Home

Janosch Maier ist ein leidenschaftlicher Softwareentwickler und Unternehmer. Nach seinen Studien der Informatik und Pädagogik gründete er das Start-Up Crashtest Security. Janoschs Forschung verläuft an der Grenze der Informatik und der Psychologie. Er gibt sein Wissen zu über DevSecOps gerne weiter und ist in den letzten Jahren häufig als Referent zu Themen der IT Sicherheit aufgetreten. Aktuell arbeitet Janosch als Senior DevOps Engineer bei Ottonova.

Biographie

Janosch war erst 15 Jahre alt, als er sein erstes Programm schrieb um Passwörter mitzulesen. Seitdem stellt er die Sicherheit von Software in Frage und sucht Sicherheitslücken, wo immer er kann. Während seiner Zeit in Uganda kam er mit Hackers for Charity in Berührung wo er Blut leckte um seine Fähigkeiten für das Gemeinwohl einzusetzen. Seitdem fördert er Entwickler und Sicherheitsexperten dabei die Herausforderungen agiler Sicherheitskonzepte zu meistern. Insbesondere in modernen, agilen Umgebungen ist es nicht mehr ausreichend unregelmäßige, manuelle Sicherheitstests durchzuführen. Seine Mission ist es DevOps Teams zu unterstützen, Sicherheit in ihre Entwicklungsprozesse zu integrieren. Er unterstützt Projekte wie Mailspring oder Whatweb mit Codebeiträgen.

Janosch besitzt einen Master der Informatik der Technischen Unversität München (TUM), einer der Eliteuniversitäten in diesem Bereich. In seinen Studien fokussierte er sich auf IT Sicherheit insbesondere in den Bereichen Netzwerke, Android und Webanwendungen. Sein Bachelor der Pädagogik der Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München (LMU) hilft ihm dabei, IT Sicherheit in einer Art darzustellen, die gehaltvoll und gleichzeitig spannend ist. Janosch entwarf für das niederländische Justizministerium ein Cyber Security Dashboard. Im Anschluss an sein Studium entwickelte er einen Sicherheitsscanner für Webanwendungen, was im Jahr 2017 zur Gründung von Crashtest Security führte. Dort verantwortete er mehrere Jahre als Head of Product die Weiterentwicklung des Sicherheitsscanners. Inzwischen ist er selbst wieder technisch aktiv und arbeitet als Senior DevOps Engineer bei Ottonova.

Präsentationen und Workshops (Auszug):

  • 23.02.2021 – Digital Product School – Workshop: Developing Secure Web Applications
  • 25.01.2021 – Universität Regensburg – Guest Lecture: IT Security in agilen Umgebungen
  • 30.02.2020 – Cloud Native Night Munich – Presentation/Workshop: Hack me if you can!
  • 09.07.2020 – Secure.Bayern – Webinar: Cloud Application Attack Vectors
  • 07.04.2020 – Requestee – Webinar: How to avoid cyber-attacks in a remote work environment
  • 25.03.2020 – Heise SecIT – Slides Only: DevSecOps – Oder: Wie implementiere ich eine agile Sicherheitsstrategie
  • 17.03.2020 – TWENTY2X – Slides Only: Agile Softwareentwicklung – Aber Sicher!
  • 15.01.2020 – Software Quality Days – Presentation: Quo Vadis DevSecOps?
  • 30.10.2019 – GFFT Workshops – Presentation: Security & Automatisierung? Das schreit nach DevSecOps!
  • 25.10.2019 – QS Tag – Presentation: Security? Eine Frage automatisierter Sicherheitstests!
  • 09.10.2019 – it-sa – Presentation: Die Fabrik im Netz – Was haben Industrie 4.0 und DevSecOps gemeinsam?
  • 06.06.2019 – DevSecOps Forum – Workshop: How to build a secure DevOps Pipeline
  • 29.05.2019 – Daho.am – Workshop: How to Hack (and Secure) your Web Application
  • 13.05.2019 – Cloud Expo Europe – Presentation: Security in der Cloud? Ein Fall für DevSecOps!
  • 10.05.2019 – DATEV Agile Security Konferenz – Presentation: Pentest Automatisierung
  • 23.03.2019 – BSides Munich – Workshop: Developing Secure Web Applications
  • 27.02.2019 – Swiss Cyber Security Days – Presentation: How to build a secure DevOps Pipeline

Home

Janosch Maier is a passionated software engineer and entrepreneur. After his studies in Informatics and Educational Science he founded the start-up Crashtest Security. Janosch published his research on the border between computer science and psychology. He has been educating others on DevSecOps as a speaker on IT security and related topices for the last several years. Currently, Janosch is working as Senior DevOps Engineer with Ottonova.

Biography

Janosch Maier was only 15 when he created his own tool to record passwords. Ever since then, he questioned publicly available software and began looking for security flaws wherever he could. While living in Uganda, he met Hackers for Charity where he tasted blood on how to hack for the good cause. Since then, Janosch has been on a crusade to enable developers and security experts to cope with the challenges of agile security principles. Especially in modern, agile environments, it is not sufficient anymore to conduct manual, infrequent security tests. His mission is to educate DevOps teams on how to integrate security in their development processes. He is a code contributor to projects like Mailspring or Whatweb.

Janosch has a master degree in computer science from TUM (Technische Universtität München), a highly recognised university in its research. In his studies he put his focus on IT-security in the fields of networks, android and web applications. His degree in educational sciences from LMU (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München) helps him to illustrate IT security in a way that is fun listening to and rich of content at the same time. Janosch worked with the Dutch Ministry of Justice to develop a cyber security dashboard. Following his studies he designed his own vulnerability scanner for web applications which led to his foundation of Crashtest Security in 2017. He worked several years as Head of Product for Crashtest Security. By now, he moved on to a new role as Senior DevOps Engineer with Ottonova that is challenging his technical skillset again.

Presentation and Workshops (Excerpt):

  • 23.02.2021 – Digital Product School – Workshop: Developing Secure Web Applications
  • 25.01.2021 – Universität Regensburg – Guest Lecture: IT Security in agilen Umgebungen
  • 30.02.2020 – Cloud Native Night Munich – Presentation/Workshop: Hack me if you can!
  • 09.07.2020 – Secure.Bayern – Webinar: Cloud Application Attack Vectors
  • 07.04.2020 – Requestee – Webinar: How to avoid cyber-attacks in a remote work environment
  • 25.03.2020 – Heise SecIT – Slides Only: DevSecOps – Oder: Wie implementiere ich eine agile Sicherheitsstrategie
  • 17.03.2020 – TWENTY2X – Slides Only: Agile Softwareentwicklung – Aber Sicher!
  • 15.01.2020 – Software Quality Days – Presentation: Quo Vadis DevSecOps?
  • 30.10.2019 – GFFT Workshops – Presentation: Security & Automatisierung? Das schreit nach DevSecOps!
  • 25.10.2019 – QS Tag – Presentation: Security? Eine Frage automatisierter Sicherheitstests!
  • 09.10.2019 – it-sa – Presentation: Die Fabrik im Netz – Was haben Industrie 4.0 und DevSecOps gemeinsam?
  • 06.06.2019 – DevSecOps Forum – Workshop: How to build a secure DevOps Pipeline
  • 29.05.2019 – Daho.am – Workshop: How to Hack (and Secure) your Web Application
  • 13.05.2019 – Cloud Expo Europe – Presentation: Security in der Cloud? Ein Fall für DevSecOps!
  • 10.05.2019 – DATEV Agile Security Konferenz – Presentation: Pentest Automatisierung
  • 23.03.2019 – BSides Munich – Workshop: Developing Secure Web Applications
  • 27.02.2019 – Swiss Cyber Security Days – Presentation: How to build a secure DevOps Pipeline
  • 29.11.2018 – IHK für München und Oberbayern – Webinar: Sicherheit für Ihre Website